LIVE VIDEO: Channel 2 News    Watch

Local Governments Sign on to Transparency Site; Only Few from WNY

11:51 PM, Mar 14, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

By Jessica Bakeman, Gannett Albany Bureau

ALBANY, NY--  Sixty-nine local governments plan to upload public data onto Gov. Andrew Cuomo's "Open NY" transparency site, officially launched earlier this week.

Fifteen counties, 22 cities, 25 towns and seven villages have agreed to participate, sharing economic development, recreation, health and public services information on the portal.

"With the launch of, New York state has taken another step toward greater transparency in government," Cuomo said in a statement Thursday. "In addition to reducing costs and housing data for localities, this website helps connect government on all levels with the people it serves."

New data will be available on a rolling basis, according to the governor's office.

Broome, Chemung, Dutchess and Ulster counties are among those localities participating, as well as the cities of Rochester, Yonkers, Mount Vernon and Ithaca.

Peter Baynes, executive director of the state Conference of Mayors, lauded the value of the website in a statement Thursday.

"In addition to fostering transparency, municipal officials will be able to use this data for their own research and to assist them in making informed decisions," he said.

Here are a list of communities participating so far:

1. Albany County
2. Broome County
3. Chemung County
4. Clinton County
5. Dutchess County
6. Essex County
7. Franklin County
8. Oneida County
9. Onondaga County
10. Ontario County
11. Orange County
12. Nassau County
13. Suffolk County
14. Tompkins County
15. Ulster County
16. City of Albany
17. City of Amsterdam
18. City of Canandaigua
19. City of Cortland
20. City of Glen Cove
21. City of Hornell
22. City of Ithaca
23. City of Jamestown
24. City of Kingston
25. City of Long Beach
26. City of Middletown
27. City of Mount Vernon
28. City of New York
29. City of Niagara Falls
30. City of Norwich
31. City of Olean
32. City of Oswego
33. City of Rochester
34. City of Rome
35. City of Schenectady
36. City of Utica
37. City of Yonkers
38. Town Chesterfield
39. Town of Babylon
40. Town of Brighton
41. Town of Brookhaven
42. Town of Chesterfield
43. Town of Chili
44. Town of Colonie
45. Town of East Hampton
46. Town of Hamilton
47. Town of Huntington
48. Town of Islip
49. Town of Jay
50. Town of Minerva
51. Town of North Hempstead
52. Town of Plattsburgh
53. Town of Potsdam
54. Town of Ramapo
55. Town of Riverhead
56. Town of Salina
57. Town of Smithtown
58. Town of Southampton
59. Town of Tonawanda
60. Town of Union
61. Town of Vestal
62. Town of West Seneca
63. Village of Aurora
64. Village of Canastota
65. Village of Gouverneur
66. Village of Johnson City
67. Village of Massapequa Park
68. Village of North Syracuse
69. Village of Saranac Lake



Most Watched Videos